And the Honorary Oscar Goes to…Cicely Tyson

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has opened the envelope on the honorees for its 2018 Governors Awards: Kathleen Kennedy, Frank Marshall, Marvin Levy, Lalo Schifrin and Cicely Tyson will receive Honorary Oscars at a ceremony Sunday, November 18.

The honors are conferred by the Academy’s Board of Governors “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

Kennedy and Marshall, who are married , will be receiving the Irving G. Thalberg Award, a bust of the legendary studio executive and producer  it was named for, while Tyson, Levy , and Schifrin will all receive honorary Oscar statuettes.

(Source: Deadline)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: